Here, have a few hundred words…

Recently I have decided to make sure I write every week.  Alongside my more serious subjects, I try and make my brain branch out into things I wouldn’t normally.  Here is a piece of fiction (in its original raw state) with a writing prompt I found on another blog on here over at A dose of Kyle (I apologise if I haven’t referenced this right I don’t have a clue!)

Today has been, well quite frankly, a load of bollocks.  The weather had predicted this fact this morning when the bright sunshine turned to a torrential downpour as soon as I had arrived at work.  I would have brought a brolly but yesterday my cat Moses, my little ginger tabby, got hold of it and well…he decided to do unspeakable things to it and I didn’t really want it back after that.  The puddle I stepped in right before I stepped through my workplace doors seemingly came from nowhere considering the shower had just started but it was without explanation as it entered my flimsy shoes and drenched the bottoms of my tights.  Tights were really a good idea today as they enabled rainwater to inch further and further up my leg as the day dragged on.  Mentally I measured the pile of paperwork sitting on my desk as I pessimistically set myself the task of clearing half of it before lunch time.  Surprisingly at the end of the end of the day the mountain was unchanged in its enormity.

Later that day as I walked through the door of my home I shook myself, letting drops of water fly from my hair and coat in a spray of irritation.  Yes, ok this is what dogs do but I was feeling so unlike myself today that I really didn’t see any point in fighting the urge.  I dumped my coat on the floor dejectedly, too fed up to even aim for the coat peg.  Moses looked quizzically at me, clearly confused by my canine behaviours and contemplating the best course of action.  Apparently it was to go up to my coat and start doing unspeakable things to it (his answer to everything lately).
Dragging myself into the kitchen,  there was something amiss.  Normally I would not have noticed such a small insignificant thing but as I was already on edge today my senses were keen and honed in in the intrusion straight away. The object in question sat so neatly in the middle of my kitchen table and it had definitely not been there this morning, in fact I would go so far as to say I had never seen it before in my life.  It wasn’t until I moved towards it that it began to sparkle with an electric blue dazzle…

As always thanks for your attention 🙂

2 thoughts on “Here, have a few hundred words…

Leave a comment